by Hydrargentium

When I woke up, I felt like I was still in a dream. Floating. Weightless. Hearing sounds like being underwater. Moving my limbs like being under Jell-o. Diffuse light was everywhere, coming from nowhere. I had no idea which way was up.

After a time, I saw a dark shape moving off in the distance. There was nothing distinct about it. More like the kind of shadow you get through frosted glass. But it gave me a point, something different than everything else, that I could aim for.

Trying to move was like swimming, except for how it was more like crawling. I felt like I could almost grab the atmosphere with my hands, and pull myself through it, but at the same time, kicking my legs behind me propelled me forward in a way that couldn’t have worked on dry land.

