by Hydrargentium

The intro to Welcome to the Jungle filled the sky, breaking Arrow’s reverie. Reaching for his hip, he yanked his phone out of its holster, nearly fumbling it into the big blue yonder in his haste.

“This is Arrow.”

“Arrow. Where the hell are you?”

“Larry? Hey, geez. I don’t know. Somewhere over Kansas?” Arrow searched the horizon, looking for anything other than flat land full of wheat fields.

The voice on the other end grunted. “Whaddaya mean, you don’t know where you are?”

Arrow shrugged, exasperation clear in his voice. “What am I, Map Man? You tell me. You can read the GPS from this thing.”

“Nah, I’m just messin’ with you.” The sound of crinkling junk food packaging could be heard in the background. “You’re about two hours out of Kansas City. Just keep on in the direction you’re headed, and I’ll give you a call when you get close.”

