by Hydrargentium

“So tell me more about this place.”

“What, Shadow World?”

“Yeah.”

“It’s the place I go. It… well, what do you want to know?”

I shrugged. “I never really gave a crap about it before-”

“Thanks.”

“-but now that I’ve got Darkies showing up in my neighbourhood, I don’t want to be left in the dark.”

“Pun intended?”

That made me wince.

“No. Not pun intended.”

“Well, first of all, those things you shot at are called ‘Dark Striders’, because they stride between the two worlds, ours and the Shadow World.”

“Did you come up with that name?”

“No.” Shadowboy shook his head, clearly annoyed that I asked. Whatever. “They call themselves that.”

“They can talk?”

“Not in this world. And they don’t say much in the Shadow World either. But they will if you listen.”

“All I heard was ‘Eeeeeee’.”

“That’s what they sound like over there, too. Except it makes words.”

