by Hydrargentium

“This is a frog.”

The henchman nodded vigourously. “Yep, it is.”

Warloq stared for a moment, then shook his head, just a bit.

“I didn’t ask for a frog.”

More nodding. “Yep.”

More staring. The frog in Warloq’s hand kicked its legs a couple of times, then settled down.

“I asked you to get me a toad.”

Nod, nod, nod. “Yep. You did.”

The frog made a gentle noise, half ribbit, half gurgle.

“They didn’t have any. The guy at the pet store said there was an epidemic in the toads. Salmonella, I think he said.”

Warloq half-listened, more thankful the man had quit his compulsive nodding than anything else.

“Where was this?”

“Popular Pets, out near the fairgrounds. Figured I’d go to a big store, they’d have everything.”

The henchman held up his hand.

“And before you ask, there’s no point trying any other stores. There’s a government quarantine on them. Most of ’em have been destroyed, the rest are being studied in a lab at the University.”

Warloq handed him back the frog.

“Do something with this. I have to think.”

