by Hydrargentium

“Why did I become a hero? Good question.”

Kinetic shifted on his stool. One hundred and twenty four people sat around him, in comfortable chairs, and almost all of them were rapt.

“There was no one good reason. I didn’t have some kind of episode with a lost relative or a dying loved one, nothing that drove me for justice or revenge. There was no lust for fame or adventure. I never felt ‘compelled’ to put on the mask.”

Near the back, someone coughed. A glance told him that this wasn’t boredom or disbelief, merely an embarrassingly dry throat.

“I almost feel bad that you folks each put down a thousand dollars for charity to come hear my stories, and the first one isn’t much of a story at all.”

Polite chuckles worked their way around the audience.

“So I’ll be brief. I think it just seemed like the right thing to do. I gained my powers, and I realized they could be used to help others, and I didn’t feel like it would be right to not try. I put it down to good parenting.”

Kinetic looked directly into the live camera.

“Thanks, Dad and Jimmy.”

