by Hydrargentium

“Those aren’t bugs. They’re rats.” Vagabond shook his head.

“Rats?” Squeezeplay squinted hard at the squirming mass. “Where’d they find rats so tiny?”

Vagabond sighed.

“They’re not tiny. They’re plain-old, ordinary, disease-infested rats. Norway rats, most likely.”

“I ain’t ever seen plain-old rats that small before, V.”

Vagabond tilted his head, clearly trying to find the right way to explain. He leaned back to sit on his heels, and dropped a hand onto Squeezeplay’s shoulder.

“You know how when things are farther away, they look smaller? Remember that time I took you to the Eiffel Tower, and all the cars looked so small?”

“Yeah, sure I do.”

“Right. Well, the rats only look small, because they’re far away- ah, now you’ve got it.”

Vagabond smiled at the look of realization dawning on the other man’s face.

“So they’re just…,” Squeezeplay mused. “Geez, that’s one deep hole.”

“Exactly.”

“So, how we gettin’ down there?”

Vagabond forced his smile to stay in place.

“I can teleport, Squeeze.”

Squeezeplay shrugged. “Okay, so what are we waitin’ for? Let’s go.”

Vagabond’s smile turned grim.

“That’s where you come in, my friend. I don’t like rats.”

“You want me to go down with you?”

“No. Well, yes. But first, I want you to get rid of the rats.”

Squeezeplay squinted down the hole.

“Yeah, I can do that. But it’s gonna be messy.”

“Dead rats don’t bother me, Squeeze.”

